Interviews

Exclusive Interview: Hajar Habi’s secret to success are passion and integrity!

Try to find a company that shares your values, work hard, share your ideas, create new content if you can and be happy, says Hajar Habi, an HR professional from Rabat, Morocco, in this exclusive interview to MOIWrites

IMG_0371

1. Tell us about yourself?

My name is Hajar Habi, I am 32 years old and I am currently living in Rabat, Morocco.

2. You are an HR Development Officer. What does your job include?

I started my career in 2007 as a Consultant then decided to join an investment bank in 2014 where I still work today as an HR Development Manager. My main responsibilities include managing the recruitment process, learning and development, career and performance management among others.

3. What do you think are the secret to success?

Passion and integrity.

4. How do you achieve a work-life balance?

I work 8 hours a day, I try to read from two to five hours every day and I am a substitute teacher at a Journalism School in Paris since 2013. Reading is the most important activity in my everyday life and my first source of satisfaction, or at least a very important one. It is my own way of living healthy and what guaranties my “mental balance”. It became more than a habit or a sacred practice, it is the only way (of living) I know. M work-life balance is in fact my work-reading balance and since it is very important to me, I usually manage to find enough time to read. Sometimes I wake up at six in the morning and when I have a busy week at work, I may spend the next weekend at home reading all day long until I feel satisfied. It is a kind of permanent hunger and a form of optimism. I guess life has a meaning as long as I am reading, let us put it that way.

5. Share your experience of being Editor-in-Chief of Blogueuse?

I became a blogger in 2010, a Youtuber since 2012. I did it because I wanted to talk about books with other readers since I could not find any in my “real life” and I am glad I did, it was one of the best decisions of my life! The best part of my experience is meeting so many priceless people all around the world and some of them were also living in my country, so thank you Internet and social media! But most of all, thanks to my blog and my YouTube channel I was able to discover so many authors these last few years and had a diverse reading experience. Thanks to this reading, I became more aware of the world I live in but I still have a lot to learn, which is a relief and a concern at the same time.

img_0375.jpg

6. If anyone from Pakistan visits Rabat, Morocco, which places must be visited?

Hassan Tour and the wonderful view of the Bouregreg, my favorite place in Rabat, then Oudaya and Maure Café for a delicious cup of Moroccan tea and a peaceful walk at Chellah.

7. Which cuisines are a must have for those visiting Morocco?

Moroccan tajin and pastilla. We have many sorts of tajins and they are all delicious in my opinion (tajin with vegetables, prunes and meat, lemon and chicken), and two sorts of pastillas: sweet pastilla with chicken and almonds or fish pastilla. In addition to that, each area of Morocco has its own specific popular meals and the foodies will not be disappointed!

8. We know you love reading books. Which are your top three favorite books?

“Surveiller et punir”, by Michel Foucault (Discipline and punish) is still my number one, it was like a slap in the face and completely affected my view of the world. My second favorite is “Voyage au bout de la nuit”, by Céline (Journey to the end of the night), another French author, much debated because of his anti-Semitism but who is nevertheless a genius and one of the most humanistic authors I’ve read! It’s always difficult for me to choose my third favorite book because there are so many but it will be another French man, “L’étranger” by Camus (The Stranger), it’s this book you love so much that you’re very sad and hurt when you read a bad review about it or hear someone saying it’s just meh.

9. As an HR professional, what advice will you give to fresh graduates at the curb of beginning their professional lives?

Try to find a company that shares your values, work hard, share your ideas, create new content if you can and be happy!

10. Your future plans?

Take part in educational projects, write my first book and try to make this world a better place.